Quad Suite (Six Vibrations for Agnes Martin, Hebes Grande...

1972 | 00:32:58 | United States | English | B&W | Mono | 4:3 | 3/4" U-matic video

Collection: Early Video Art, Single Titles

Tags: Music, Sound, Video History

add to cart
add to wish list

Capitalizing on the visual aspect of musical performance, Quad Suite explores the essential link between the image of music and its sound. In Six Vibrations, the camera is riveted to a close-up of the four upper frets of Landry’s guitar, maintaining an image of the sound easily identified with the gridded field paintings of Agnes Martin. In Hebe’s Grande Bois, Landry improvises on a bamboo flute as the camera frames his mouth, again in extreme close-up, in the center of the screen. There is something sensual, almost obscene, about Landry’s lips. 4th Register is a sonorous piece for tenor saxophone, in which Landry deliberately sets out to test the limits of the instrument.