Fluxus Replayed

Takahiko iimura

1991 | 00:29:25 | United States | English | B&W | Mono | 4:3 | BetacamSP video

Collection: Single Titles

Tags: Art Collective, Art History, Conceptual Art, Performance

In a radical action like Nam June Paik destroying a violin, and rolling up in bandages the bodies of the players in in a concert by Yoko Ono, the international avant-garde group Fluxus changed not only art, but the concept of it.

Fluxus Replayed is a document of a 1991 performance in New York, which reproduced historical Fluxus performance pieces from the early 1960s.  The S.E.M. Ensemble together with some of the Fluxus artists themselves, perform works by Nam June Paik, Yoko Ono, Dick Higgins, George Brecht, Allison Knowles, Ben Patterson, Jackson Mac Low and Emett Williams.

"Taka iimura is a senior figure among contemporary Japanese artists and has been working with film, sound and video since the 1960s. He was one of several Japanese who, coming from a 20th Century tradition of avant-garde intervention, contributed to the Fluxus group in the 60s... As the cycle of experimentation moves through another generation, glimpses of precursors through archive recordings of this kind help ground artists’ surviving words and artworks."

-- Mike Leggett, Leonardo Digital Review, MIT Press

Pricing Information

Additional Formats/Uses
Request an Exhibition Quote Request an Archival Quote

Please contact info@vdb.org or visit http://www.vdb.org/content/prices-formats with any questions about the license types listed here.